Welcome Guest
The time is now 10:35 am
You last visited October 1, 2014, 10:33 am
All times shown are
Eastern Time (GMT-5:00)

Why can't I win much on scratch tickets?

Topic closed. 36 replies. Last post 2 years ago by maringoman.

Page 1 of 3
PrintE-mailLink

United States
Member #122473
February 1, 2012
414 Posts
Posted: March 11, 2013, 9:55 am - IP Logged

Hi everyone,

I've been playing scratch tickets for almost 3 years now and there have only been a few times that I won 100 dollars on a scratch ticket and once won 200 dollars. The majority of the time I win nothing or just the face value of the ticket. I realize the majority of the people never win much on scratchers but when I look at my states lottery web site and see the number of winners per game that they have for some decent money it suprises me that I still never win any decent amounts. I get the fact that the lottery is random and with scratch tickets they probably only have a certain amount of winners in a book of tickets. Even when I got all the prizes on a 2 dollar ticket for example the prize was still lousy.  When I play I'd be happy to win any decent amount but it gets so frustrating winning nothing or just face value of the ticket. The last 6 months I've cut down on my spending of tickets but can't seem to go cold turkey and still play. I still tend to buy some tickets and wait a week or so to scratch them just to hold onto that dream of winning something. I'm not expecting to win a million (though would be amazing) I'd be happy with any decent amount, heck 500 dollars would be great. Couldn't the lottery be a little more generous with their prizes so people would not always feel like a sucker when they play. Okay I get that noone is making me buy tickets that's my doing but still feel like it's always a losing proposition.  I'm not able to stop playing because I continue to hold onto my dream of someday winning but just wish I could win something every now and then that was decent.