Welcome Guest
The time is now 1:46 am
You last visited August 1, 2014, 1:44 am
All times shown are
Eastern Time (GMT-5:00)

lottery player association?

Topic closed. 4 replies. Last post 10 years ago by goose.

Page 1 of 1
PrintE-mailLink

China
Member #3032
December 16, 2003
1081 Posts
Posted: February 17, 2004, 3:10 am - IP Logged

I read a news today that mentioned about US professional lottery player association or something like that

Is there such a professional lottery player association and if yes,what is it for?

thx

Columbia City, Indiana
    United States
    Member #2978
    December 9, 2003
    381 Posts
    Posted: February 23, 2004, 11:07 am - IP Logged

Goose:

There are no Lottery Player Associations operating in America, but there probably should be. This is something I've been kicking around for a few months now, but I have no idea what the legalities might be for such a project. I would think you'd run into severe opposition from whatever state you were trying to organize; the lottery business is a very powerful lobby.

It could be argued that, since the lottery games are designated as a "voluntary" or "sin" tax, states need these players' associations to safeguard the interests of the constituency. Otherwise, we're forced to accept taxation without representation, which is defined as "tyranny", which is prohibited by the United States Constitution.

Another viable argument would be that, since the commission essentially has a monopoly on the lottery games, a players' association is necessary in order to institute an acceptable system of checks and balances. That is, to ensure the players were properly represented in the actual draw process, in addition to security personnel and accounting firms.

We certainly need such an organization in Indiana, but I'm sure that any state could see benefits from it.

Jim 

United States
      Member #3823
      February 23, 2004
      2 Posts
      Posted: February 23, 2004, 11:30 pm - IP Logged