## OFFICE OF THE DEMOCRATIC LEADER

28th SENATORIAL DISTRICT SHELBY COUNTY

sen.jim.kyle@legislature.state.tn.us

SENATOR JAMES F. KYLE Democratic Leader

LAUREN G. AGEE Senior Policy Advisor

MIKE KRAUSE

Executive Assistant for Policy and Research

MARSHA MILAN

Administrative Assistant

September 13, 2007

Honorable Ron Ramsey Speaker of the Senate 1 Legislative Plaza Nashville TN 37243

Honorable Jimmy Naifeh Speaker of the House 19 Legislative Plaza Nashville TN 37243

Dear Speakers Ramsey and Naifeh:

I am writing to formally request that the Joint Lottery Oversight Committee be convened as soon as possible, in order to secure a report from the Tennessee Education Lottery Corporation regarding recent incidents in lottery practices and procedures.

Now that so many Tennesseans depend on lottery funds for higher education, it would be irresponsible for the legislature to allow any ambiguity or loss of confidence in the lottery process. The Joint Lottery Oversight Committee has been inactive for some time, but I believe recent issues dictate that the legislature be given a full appraisal of the situation and the steps being taken to remedy problems in our lottery system.

Sincerely,

Jim Kyle

CAPITOL HILL OFFICE:

9A Legislative Plaza, Nashville, TN 37243-0028 (615) 741-4167 FAX (615) 253-0221

DISTRICT OFFICE:

Cc: Rebecca Hargrove, President and CEO, TELC Dennis Bottorf, Chairman, TELC Jim Hill, Vice Chairman, TELC Claire Tucker, Secretary. Treasurer, TELC Lowell Perry Jr., Board Member, TELC Marvell Mitchell, Board member, TELC Jim Ripley, Board Member, TELC Senator Dewayne Bunch, , Joint Lottery Oversight Committee Senator Tim Burchett, Joint Lottery Oversight Committee Senator Jerry Cooper, Joint Lottery Oversight Committee Senator Lowe Finney, Joint Lottery Oversight Committee Senator Bill Ketron, Joint Lottery Oversight Committee Senator Tommy Kilby, Joint Lottery Oversight Committee Senator Randy McNally, Joint Lottery Oversight Committee Senator Reginald Tate, Joint Lottery Oversight Committee Senator Jamie Woodson, Joint Lottery Oversight Committee Representative Beth Harwell, Joint Lottery Oversight Committee Representative Ulysses Jones, Joint Lottery Oversight Committee Representative Larry Miller, Joint Lottery Oversight Committee Representative Jason Mumpower, Joint Lottery Oversight Committee Representative Gary Odom, Joint Lottery Oversight Committee Representative Randy Rinks, Joint Lottery Oversight Committee Representative Charles Sargent, Joint Lottery Oversight Committee Representative Harry Tindell, Joint Lottery Oversight Committee

Representative Les Winningham, Joint Lottery Oversight Committee