Indiana scientist wins $74M Powerball lottery jackpot

May 2, 2011, 1:29 pm (43 comments)

Powerball

INDIANAPOLIS, In. — The Hoosier Lottery said Friday that April 2011 will go down as a big month for Powerball players in Indiana who have won back-to-back jackpots totaling nearly $300 million.

A pair of welders from Clarksville, Ind. claimed the first jackpot of $221.7 million and the holder of the $74 million ticket from the April 23 drawing is Hoosier native, William "Bill" Swanson II of Houston, TX.

Hoosier Lottery Executive Director Kathryn Densborn presented Swanson with his winnings at a press conference at Hoosier Lottery Headquarters in Indianapolis Friday afternoon.

Swanson is a Hoosier by birth and a geoscientist by profession. He was born in Gary and grew up in Merrillville , in Northwestern Indiana, approximately 40 miles southeast of Chicago. Swanson is a graduate of Indiana University. He was in Merrillville visiting his 81-year-old mother, Marilyn Swanson, for Easter when he purchased a quick-pick Powerball ticket that turned out to be worth $74 million.

Bill Swanson purchased his winning ticket at Meijer located at 611 W. Lincoln Hwy. (just west of I-65 at exit 253.) The scientist defied odds of one in more than 195 million (1:195,249,054) when the six numbers on his Powerball ticket matched all six numbers drawn in the April 23 drawing: 3-11-47-48-58 PB: 19.

Swanson had the option of receiving $74 million as a 30 year annuity or in a lump sum of $37.7 million (before taxes). He opted to take the current cash value and received approximately $27 million after taxes.

Swanson and his mother buy Powerball tickets in Merrillville whenever he comes to visit. They purchased two tickets for the $74 million drawing.

He had already gone back to Houston when Marilyn checked the tickets and discovered the win. She called him right away. He hopped on a plane and flew back to Merrillville that night.