NY lottery winner contemplates moving to Paris

Jan 16, 2014, 3:00 pm (63 comments)

New York Lottery

GREENWICH, N.Y. — Bill Bracken grew up in Averill Park, spent much of his life on Mount Desert Island in Maine, and now lives in Vero Beach, Fla.

At least for now.

"Maybe I will move to Paris," the 74-year-old Bracken said during a New York Lottery press conference Tuesday morning at the local Cumberland Farms just before he received a giant ceremonial check for $3 million. "I have been many times, because I am an artist. I would like to go back."

He will have that opportunity — and also plans to pay off his mortgage and buy real estate — after collecting a payout of $1,667,736 because he took the lump-sum option and the state and federal government took their share of taxes.

Bracken's son Christopher, a Greenwich resident, actually bought the scratch-off "Three Million" ticket in October.

"I gave him $50 and told him to buy five $10 tickets," Bracken said. "He came back out and said, 'You won,' and showed me the ticket."

Bracken, who had been staying with his sister in Averill Park in Rensselaer County, returned to Florida, and when he returned for Thanksgiving, he and his son went to lottery headquarters to cash in the ticket.

When asked why he took so long, Bracken smiled and said, "I am 74. You take your time with these things."

The winning ticket is the first lottery jackpot winner in Washington County since Jeffrey Henderson of Hudson Falls won the "$1,000 a Week for Life" game in 1996.

Two years ago, Magen MacDavid of Queensbury won that same game on a ticket purchased at the Cumberland Farms store on Quaker Road in Queensbury.

Bracken, dressed casually in a dark shirt, black corduroys and horn-rimmed glasses, was relaxed and joking with the small crowd in the store. He received the oversized check from the lottery's John Schnur.

The money will be deposited into Bracken's bank account in a few days.