Welcome Guest
You last visited January 20, 2017, 7:00 pm
All times shown are
Eastern Time (GMT-5:00)

Powerball's Match 5 Bonus Pool Rule

Topic closed. 13 replies. Last post 12 years ago by CASH Only.

Page 1 of 1
PrintE-mailLink

Should Powerball get rid of it?

Yes(explain)! [ 8 ]  [66.67%]
No(explain)! [ 4 ]  [33.33%]
Total Valid Votes [ 12 ]  
Discarded Votes [ 1 ]  
weshar75's avatar - Lottery-042.jpg
Mcminnville, Oregon
United States
Member #3013
December 13, 2003
3092 Posts
Posted: April 9, 2005, 3:04 am - IP Logged

I have been playing powerball since 1993 and this darn rule is the worst rule they have ever had in the games history.  So get rid of it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

LOTTOMIKE's avatar - Lottery-063.jpg
    Tennessee
    United States
    Member #7853
    October 15, 2004
    11338 Posts
    Posted: April 9, 2005, 4:15 am - IP Logged

explain this rule,i play powerball sometimes but i'm not familiar with certain aspects of it.....

Morrison, IL
      United States
      Member #4657
      May 13, 2004
      1884 Posts
      Posted: April 9, 2005, 11:59 am - IP Logged

They limit rollovers to $25 million each if the jackpot gets to be $25 million over the previous record (currently, the qualifying jackpot is $340 million).  The excess cash gets placed in a "Match 5 bonus pool," which is distributed among all the $100,000 winners when the record jackpot is finally won.

Mcminnville, Oregon
        United States
        Member #3013
        December 13, 2003
        3092 Posts
        Posted: April 9, 2005, 12:01 pm - IP Logged

Match 5 bonus rule works like this when the jackpot reaches 340 million dollars it will rise in 25 million increments and the rest of the money will go into a 5+0 pool to be divided among those winners.  If they have no 5+0 winners then it goes to the 4+1 winners and so on.  It is a limit on how high the jackpot can potentially be and that is why I hate it!

Tennessee
          United States
          Member #7853