Welcome Guest
You last visited December 5, 2016, 9:28 am
All times shown are
Eastern Time (GMT-5:00)

Need help in understanding betting on Pick 4

Topic closed. 6 replies. Last post 10 years ago by SirMetro.

Page 1 of 1
PrintE-mailLink
Charlotte
United States
Member #42106
June 27, 2006
59 Posts
Posted: October 25, 2006, 4:54 pm - IP Logged

Hope someone on the board can assist me.  I can't quite get my head completely around the best way to play Pick 4 boxed, though I think I am close.

If your playing numbers that have the same digit appearing more than once (i.e.: 7,5,8,7), is it best to buy the ticket at a 6 way, 12 way, or 24 way play?  I am thinking that if you have four individual numbers (i.e.: 4,5,6,7), then a 24 way play is the surest win, placing a 4 way place on a drawing with three of the same (i.e.: 7,7,7,4).  Is this correct?

I am new to playing Pick 4, so I appreciate you suggestions/advice.

Best of Luck!

Nothing beats a try, but a failure!!!!

Lucky Star's avatar - flower2
    Georgia
    United States
    Member #38040
    April 23, 2006
    1643 Posts
    Posted: October 25, 2006, 5:04 pm - IP Logged

If two digits are the same, you can only play  12 way box, correct? (If, you're playing box only)  Is that correct, folks? 

Good Question, CountingMan!!!

Peace.  And, Good Luck!!!

calabs's avatar - bass fret.jpg

United States
      Member #27050
      November 26, 2005
      40272 Posts
      Posted: October 25, 2006, 5:08 pm - IP Logged

Hi CountingMan and welcome to LP!

Regarding you're first question, you can not play a double number (7587) 24 ways, as there are only 12 permutations.  A single number (4567) can be played in 24 different permutations.  You're right regarding the triples with 4 different permuations, and let's not forget the double/double (2277) which has 6 different straight permutations.  It all depends on your budget, how strongly you think the number will hit, and how many numbers you play.  That's up to you!!