Welcome Guest
You last visited January 21, 2017, 6:32 pm
All times shown are
Eastern Time (GMT-5:00)

Buying a ticket

Topic closed. 10 replies. Last post 10 years ago by Todd.

Page 1 of 1
PrintE-mailLink
Chicago
United States
Member #50524
March 7, 2007
7 Posts
Posted: March 8, 2007, 12:16 pm - IP Logged

Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new to the lottery game aside from scratch offs. So, please pardon my ignorance.

How do you purchase the correct wager in Illinois? In other words, what is the correct terminology to use?

Last night, I wanted to buy one 6-Way Straight/Box ticket. The vendor printed two tickets: StrBx $1.00 & Box $0.50.

Is that right? I'm not sure what I was supposed to pay. I thought it would be $2 total.

Thanks!

derek7's avatar - speedykat
    IL
    United States
    Member #34578
    March 4, 2006
    198 Posts
    Posted: March 8, 2007, 12:25 pm - IP Logged

I assume you mean Pick 3.

Welcome shygirl,

Usually skip the part of "n way" and just say STRAIGHT or BOX or STRAIGHT BOX.

I think you should receive one STR/ BOX ticket for $1 and you should pay $1. (In it it would be kind of hidden $0.50 ticket for STR and $0.50 ticket for BOX).

You may want to fill the playslip too. They do not have advanced options printed like COMBO or multidraw, but you can choose the amount and the STR, BOX, STR/BOX wager.

n-way will be assumed based on your numbers and price is same for non-combo tickets. If you ask for quick pick, it will be random, random number and random n-way.

Derek

chippie's avatar - Lottery-064.jpg

Bahamas
      Member #31284
      January 27, 2006
      8962 Posts
      Posted: March 8, 2007, 12:29 pm - IP Logged

I hope I understand you correctly

Example:

123 ...can go 6 ways and for you to win $800.00 you would have to box it for $6.00 which would be $1 st if it came straight....... so if you box it for $6 that would equal  $1st