Welcome Guest
You last visited December 7, 2016, 11:24 am
All times shown are
Eastern Time (GMT-5:00)

After winning jackpot where to find legal?

Topic closed. 4 replies. Last post 9 years ago by alex1969.

Page 1 of 1
PrintE-mailLink
bronx
United States
Member #61287
May 17, 2008
4 Posts
Posted: May 17, 2008, 5:02 pm - IP Logged

Hey everyone.  I'm new to this place (found it a few weeks ago) and glad I'm here.  I really think (as well as some others I'm sure) that I will hit the jackpot one day - and hopefully soon.  Anyway, I've been really thinking about what I would do with a nice sum of money.  I even selected a great financial institution to manage my wealth.  I've read about starting a trust, and have been researching in detail about starting a family foundation and forms of philanthropy. 

Now the main thing that's been on my mind recently is finding and teaming up with a great lawyer.  Although I have a subscription for a few lottery games, I've been thinking could I have a lawyer claim my ticket (although I have a subscription and the ticket would automatically be in my name).  Also, where does one find a great lawyer?  I'm talking about a lawyer that could walk you through business investments and such (which I'm interested in doing). What kind of lawyer should I be looking for?  Should I consult a lawyer BEFORE going to a financial institution and discussing an estate plan? 

I know the winnings are deposited into an account so that's why I spent a lot of time on researching a great financial institution first and foremost. 

I'm gonna continue to google some suggestions but I definitely thought this place here would have some great input.  Thanks everyone!

Pittsburgh, PA
    United States
    Member #58600
    February 21, 2008
    43 Posts
    Posted: May 17, 2008, 5:32 pm - IP Logged