Welcome Guest
You last visited December 2, 2016, 5:18 pm
All times shown are
Eastern Time (GMT-5:00)

U.S. Citizenship and Residency

Topic closed. 5 replies. Last post 8 years ago by Super-man.

Page 1 of 1
PrintE-mailLink
Super-man's avatar - avatarsupes
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
United States
Member #69243
January 6, 2009
15 Posts
Posted: January 7, 2009, 12:49 am - IP Logged

Greetings and happy new year to all Lottery Post members and administrators! I've been lurking around the site ever since I arrived here in Pennsylvania last year and started playing Powerball; and I must say that I've learned a lot from everyone's inputs and discussions.

Having said that, I've read from several lottery FAQs that if you're not a US citizen and you win the jackpot (among other major prizes), the federal withholding tax is a flat 30%. As we speak, my papers to become a citizen are in the works; and since I'm a resident "citizen-in-waiting" alien, what if I win the next Powerball jackpot (dream on!) before my citizenship becomes final? Are they still going to tax me flat 30% instead of the standard 25? It's a good thing that Pennsylvania doesn't tax lottery prizes.

Please enlighten me on this one. Thank you very much LP! Wink

"Whoever saves one life, saves the world entire" - Oskar Schindler

four4me's avatar - gate1
    MD
    United States
    Member #1701
    June 18, 2003
    8359 Posts
    Posted: January 7, 2009, 1:09 am - IP Logged

you have 180 days to claim powerball tickets. So one way or another the feds will collect.

Big John says. You don't hit the number. The number hits you!!!!

I'm not Big John, I'm Four4me, Big John's a friend.
      NY
      United States
      Member #23835
      October 16, 2005
      3471 Posts
      Posted: January 7, 2009, 4:51 am - IP Logged