Welcome Guest
You last visited January 16, 2017, 7:51 am
All times shown are
Eastern Time (GMT-5:00)

Small Winnings Tax Question

Topic closed. 41 replies. Last post 7 years ago by justxploring.

Page 1 of 3
PrintE-mailLink
Texas
United States
Member #58739
February 24, 2008
59 Posts
Posted: September 21, 2009, 11:30 am - IP Logged

The max you can cash here in Texas at a Lottery retailer is $599.

So hypothetically what if I have 40 tickets of pick3 worth $500 each, to total $20,000.

Do I have to claim this on my taxes?

Thanks.

Luck is the residue of design.

CARBOB's avatar - FL LOTTERY_LOGO.png
    ORLANDO, FLORIDA
    United States
    Member #4924
    June 3, 2004
    5959 Posts
    Posted: September 21, 2009, 11:53 am - IP Logged

So hypothetically what if I have 40 tickets of pick3 worth $500 each, to total $20,000.

Thanks.

I'm not a tax expert but speaking from experience. If I were you, I would contact the Lottery Regional office, if you have one and pose this question to them. I knew a local retailer and he cashed 50 for me and treated them as individual tickets. I may be wrong ,but I suspect the lottery office may not do this.

Texas
      United States
      Member #58739
      February 24, 2008
      59 Posts
      Posted: September 21, 2009, 11:57 am - IP Logged

Right.

If I were to cash them all at various retail stores (gas Station, Grocery Store, etc.) not an actual Lottery office.

lovinwinning's avatar - Lottery-008.jpg
        Hiddenite , NC
        United States
        Member #77805
        August 1, 2009
        98 Posts
        Posted: September 21, 2009, 12:03 pm - IP Logged

I cash mine in on different days .

Happy Thanksgiving everyone ! May we all have something to be thankful for !! Big Smile

Texas
          United States
          Member #58739
          February 24, 2008
          59 Posts
          Posted: September 21, 2009, 12:07 pm - IP Logged

Right.