Welcome Guest
You last visited December 9, 2016, 12:16 pm
All times shown are
Eastern Time (GMT-5:00)

If I won the Lottery (Charity Discussions).. I would give

Topic closed. 25 replies. Last post 5 years ago by adamcustom.

Page 2 of 2
PrintE-mailLink

United States
Member #59337
March 13, 2008
38 Posts
Posted: June 24, 2011, 11:28 am - IP Logged

What to do, what to do.  I'm a former veterinarian, so animals would be high on the priority list and I personally neutered many animals for SNAP certificates (neuter applies to either sex, spay is female, castration is proper term for male, just a pet peeve pls don't be offended).

No kill humane societies are mostly a joke.  You know why they can say "No Kill"????  Its because MOST OF THEM only take in the most adoptable dogs and cats so their success rate is high, and reject all the less adoptable animals to true animal control offices.  Kinda like how the Japanese police force chooses how to investigate murders . .  I saw that one on the History Channel, I think.

If that seems resentful, its because I had to perform many animal control services in the past.  Nothing like adminstering death to a litter of beautiful puppies or kittens to brighten up your outlook on life.  My needle was less painful than abandonment and starvation, but that doesn't change the fact that I'm pretty convinced my karma score suffers from that.  And the endless parade of euthansias that I had to carry out without passing judgement on the owners because they are my clients and I care for their emotional well being and don't feel it is my place to question their difficult decisions.  Word got around that I was so compassionate with owners that people started specifically requesting and making appointments for ME to do their euths.  And I couldn't turn them down, since I made them feel better emotionally and I think that's the right thing to do, even if I suffered for it.