Welcome Guest
You last visited December 4, 2016, 11:27 pm
All times shown are
Eastern Time (GMT-5:00)

I wrote a Java app to generate lotto numbers...

Topic closed. 15 replies. Last post 5 years ago by Stack47.

Page 1 of 2
PrintE-mailLink
Fort Walton Beach
United States
Member #128650
May 30, 2012
3 Posts
Posted: May 30, 2012, 1:02 pm - IP Logged

Hi all.

I'm a software engineer for Ricoh Corporation.

I wrote a Java app over the past four weeks while at home recovering from surgery that will generate lottery numbers for one game here in Florida, called the Fantasy 5. 

The numbers go up to 36 and I used lotto numbers from 1997 to now to generate a pattern recognition algorithm to predict the next sets of numbers.

I tested a few predictions and only had one full hit (all 5 numbers match) over three weeks.  According to the numbers I calculated, my program will increase my odds up to 8% my way.  It's not much because I have to play a hundred numbers a day for over ten days. 

I'm looking for a better algorithm to increase my odds a little bit more. 

Can anybody help?

Fort Walton Beach
    United States
    Member #128650
    May 30, 2012
    3 Posts
    Posted: May 30, 2012, 1:48 pm - IP Logged

Forgot to mention that I would share my software with anyone willing to help. 

The application itself is rather large and it is still in its alpha testing phase.  I don't want to hard-code too much of the generator engine until I can tweak the pattern-recognition algorithm first.

Some details about the algorithm itself:

I used Sunita Sarawagi's CRF pattern recognition code to build the generator engine.  You can find code and explanations here:  oops, can't post the link, sorry.

It took weeks for me to tweak the engine to teach it how to generate patterns and I thought I had locked my laptop up when I ran it.