Welcome Guest
You last visited December 9, 2016, 12:16 pm
All times shown are
Eastern Time (GMT-5:00)

What are your thoughts on ticket 'extras'?

Topic closed. 5 replies. Last post 3 years ago by maringoman.

Page 1 of 1
PrintE-mailLink
Chadu82's avatar - Lottery-029.jpg

United States
Member #150713
December 29, 2013
6 Posts
Posted: January 1, 2014, 1:41 am - IP Logged

I recently started playing Hot Lotto and Mega Millions but I only buy quick pick tickets for multi-draws. I don't do anything extra since I don't want to spend a fortune on tickets. What are your thoughts on paying the extra $1 for the Hot Lotto 'Sizzler' or the additional $1 for the Mega Millions 'Megaplier' for your tickets? I figure if a tickets is meant to win, it's going to win the big one so I shouldn't go spending extra money on each indiviual quick pick just to be throwing extra money on each purchase.

With Hot Lotto, I buy 4 quick picks @ $1 each for 5 draws so it costs me $20 total. I do this twice a month so my draws cover the month. If I paid the extra $1 for the Sizzler, I realize it would cost me double so it would end up being $40 for the month for 3 quick picks @ $1 each plus $1 for the sizzler on each quick pick.

With Mega Millions it would cost me a little less. I currently purchase 3 quick picks at $1 each for 5 draws for a total of $15. If I did the same thing but added the multiplier, it would cost me $30 for 5 draws and $60 for the month w/ megaplier.

So its either going to cost me:

Mega Millions $30 + Hot Lotto $40 = $70

Mega Millions $60 + Hot Lotto $80 = $140 (WITH EXTRA's)

I don't mind spending the $70 and probably will spend less as I reduce my Mega Million purchases in the future. However, does anyone that's played regulary have any thoughts or how their luck has been spending the extra $1 or is usually a waste?

Thanks...... Smile

The land of Canals
    United States
    Member #137589
    January 7, 2013
    168 Posts