Welcome Guest
You last visited December 7, 2016, 5:07 pm
All times shown are
Eastern Time (GMT-5:00)

$20 California ticket

Topic closed. 3 replies. Last post 3 years ago by CAScratcher20.

Page 1 of 1
PrintE-mailLink
Pasadena, CA
United States
Member #153326
March 13, 2014
186 Posts
Posted: March 13, 2014, 2:40 am - IP Logged

I'm new to this thread and I'm sure this was addressed but do any California players out there think it's bogus that the $5 Million Jackpot $20 ticket has both the free ticket and $20 prize? Really kind of dissuades me--and I'm guessing a lot of people--from playing (I bought five consecutive tickets and won one breakeven prize). I contacted the Lottery about this and never received a response. Makes you think that if you're going to spend $20 on the lottery, play either the Daily 3 or Hot Spot Bulls Eye.

mrcraft's avatar - images3lp4 zps7dbb4a10.jpg
    Los Angeles, California
    United States
    Member #149492
    December 2, 2013
    919 Posts
    Posted: March 14, 2014, 1:52 pm - IP Logged

I see both the free ticket and $20 win as the same, although the odds are slightly different.  Ultimately, you're looking at the total return on the game over time, not individual lower tier prizes while hoping to hit the top prize. The free ticket and $20 prizes make up 7,840,000 prizes or 67% of the available winning tickets.  If they didn't have those two prizes in the prize pool and started the prize at say, $30 at higher odds, the interval between winners will likely be much longer for most people, and they will complain much more loudly over that than winning break even prizes.

I don't remember the state, but I recall a high denomination game actually had prizes starting lower than the face value of the ticket.

Jon D's avatar - calotterylogo
      Los Angeles, California
      United States
      Member #103813
      January 5, 2011
      1530 Posts
      Posted: March 14, 2014, 9:56 pm - IP Logged