Welcome Guest
You last visited December 3, 2016, 2:39 pm
All times shown are
Eastern Time (GMT-5:00)

With powerball being so high, are you planning on splitting the JP?

Topic closed. 7 replies. Last post 2 years ago by Teddi.

Page 1 of 1
PrintE-mailLink

United States
Member #145267
August 1, 2013
1492 Posts
Posted: February 2, 2015, 10:55 pm - IP Logged

If I win the jackpot I'm splitting it 6 ways: mom/dad = 1, brother = 2, sister1 = 3, sister2 = 4, my son = 5 and myself = 6

mikeintexas's avatar - tx avatar-1.gif
    Texas Panhandle
    United States
    Member #136843
    December 20, 2012
    1259 Posts
    Posted: February 3, 2015, 12:48 am - IP Logged

If I win the jackpot I'm splitting it 6 ways: mom/dad = 1, brother = 2, sister1 = 3, sister2 = 4, my son = 5 and myself = 6

Now, I'm no expert, but it's my understand that other than the $5.43 million estate/lifetime exemption and the tax-free $14k annual gift per person (28k from a married couple) to anyone, gift taxes will be 35% on anything above that 5.43 million and annual gifts above 14k if the 5.43 has been maxed out. (that's federal;  Connecticut & Minnesota also have state gift taxes)    I think your plan is admirable, but it's definitely one of those cases where you should get some competent legal and financial advice should you win and before claiming;  you might be able to keep from paying Uncle Sam so much.   I don't know 'bout you, but he ain't my favorite uncle these days.

noise-gate's avatar - images q=tbn:ANd9GcR91HDs4UJhjxO7cmeMQWZ5lB_FOcMLOGicau4V74R45tDgPWrr
      Bay Area - California
      United States
      Member #136477
      December 12, 2012
      4102 Posts
      Posted: February 3, 2015, 1:15 am - IP Logged

Absolutely! and to those in Need...

James 2:15-16 (New International Version (NIV)