Welcome Guest
You last visited December 4, 2016, 1:02 am
All times shown are
Eastern Time (GMT-5:00)

Why does it take so long ...

Topic closed. 22 replies. Last post 11 years ago by pacattack05.

Page 2 of 2
PrintE-mailLink
Sparta, NJ
United States
Member #18331
July 9, 2005
1977 Posts
Posted: November 17, 2005, 2:38 pm - IP Logged

It's true Jag, I saw it in the National Inquirer, and in a fortune cookie.

None of that counts - unless you stay at a Holiday Inn

Cheers

|||::> *'`*:-.,_,.-:*''*:--->>> Chewie  <<<---.*''*:-.,_,.-:*''* <:::|||

I only trust myself - and that's a questionable choice

United States
    Member #17555
    June 22, 2005
    5582 Posts
    Posted: November 17, 2005, 2:55 pm - IP Logged

It's funny you mention that Chewie.

Last year I gave an hour speech on rocket science at Harvard.

After the speech someone asked me if I was a rocket scientist, and I said no, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn last night.

Todd's avatar - Cylon 2.gif
      Chief Bottle Washer
      New Jersey
      United States
      Member #1
      May 31, 2000
      23260 Posts
      Posted: November 17, 2005, 4:12 pm - IP Logged

They know if there was a jackpot winner within a minute or two.  That's easy.  However, it takes a few hours because of all the auditing that takes place following the drawing.  Lotteries normally do pre-drawings and post-drawings, and that's just to audit the draw machines themselves.  They also have to audit all the sales and financials from all the states, and it's just a matter of taking time.

These things all take place so that the government has the appropriate checks and balances in place to give you a fair lottery.  What's the big deal with waiting a few hours anyway? 

Check the State Lottery Report Card
      What grade did your lottery earn?

Sign the Petition for True Lottery Drawings
      Help eliminate computerized drawings!

pigsNtrees's avatar - pigsNtrees
        Mallorn trees of Lothlorien
        United States