Welcome Guest
You last visited December 9, 2016, 4:13 pm
All times shown are
Eastern Time (GMT-5:00)

random number generator

Topic closed. 27 replies. Last post 11 years ago by RJOh.

Page 2 of 2
PrintE-mailLink
Poway CA (San Diego County)
United States
Member #3489
January 25, 2004
14120 Posts
Posted: January 10, 2006, 2:22 pm - IP Logged

It's quite unlike anything at random.org or any other of the above-mentioned. I am a software developer and wrote the utility as a hobby to fill in the gap for my own personal use initially. Its standalone, so you can take it with you wherever you go. You would just have to use it to see the difference between this and other programs.  Anyway, it's free to try. If you don't find it better for your purposes than what's out there already, don't send any money. If it's a hit with you (pardon the pun), you're only out 5 bucks.

dthompson16@nc.rr.com

If you are a software developer then you should know that your program is not even a good PRNG.  I agree that it is unlike anything already mentioned!! LOL

United States
    Member #29980
    January 9, 2006
    6 Posts
    Posted: January 10, 2006, 7:40 pm - IP Logged

Well, I can tell by your reply that you are not a software developer to make such an unkind and untrue comment.  Of course there is nothing in software that reproduces the absolute true randomness such as occurs in nature, e.g., whether a point in outer space will be occupied by matter or be empty, but the measure of any random number generator is:  under what conditions will it duplicate the same sequence of numbers.  The algorithm in my program approaches true random scattering--the odds of anyone predicting the next set of numbers is virtually nil.

RJOh's avatar - chipmunk
      mid-Ohio
      United States
      Member #9
      March 24, 2001
      19830 Posts
      Posted: January 10, 2006, 10:12 pm - IP Logged