Welcome Guest
You last visited December 8, 2016, 4:15 am
All times shown are
Eastern Time (GMT-5:00)

84 Year Old Wins $40M FL Lottery

Topic closed. 23 replies. Last post 10 years ago by justxploring.

Page 1 of 2
PrintE-mailLink
justxploring's avatar - villiarna
Wandering Aimlessly
United States
Member #25360
November 5, 2005
4461 Posts
Posted: August 9, 2006, 8:42 pm - IP Logged

Hope she took the cash!  LOL

Seriously, I think it's great when all these octogenarians win in Florida, but the press releases always say they picked up their check at the lottery in Tallahassee. Nothing is every written about a trust or a lawyer. I'm not an expert on estate tax, but first she's paying a huge amount of federal income tax to the IRS. In 10 years or less she'll be leaving an estate that will be taxed heavily. If she gives her children gifts now, she has to pay gift tax in addition to the income tax. 

So my question is, why don't these people form a trust before claiming the money? Does anyone feel that the State has any responsibility to advise people on these matters? I'm not sure how a trust works, but if she has 7 children and a Family Trust claims the $21M lump sum, then wouldn't there just be one income tax when the prize is claimed and then the trust is split by the family? I'm pretty sure Florida will only pay one claimant.  I see these stories all the time announcing someone over 80 wins, so I'm just curious.

CSenior's avatar - 2016 03_10_19_01_18.png
    Florida
    United States
    Member #30348
    January 15, 2006
    2009 Posts
    Posted: August 9, 2006, 8:59 pm - IP Logged

I definitely agree! I hope she does create a trust. This will eliminate a lot of headaches down the road.

psykomo's avatar - animal shark.jpg

United States
      Member #4877
      May 30, 2004
      5121 Posts
      Posted: August 9, 2006, 9:25 pm - IP Logged

Congrat$$$$$$$$$............$HE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Who can $HE......"TRUST"??

$HE......."You" Can trust