Welcome Guest
You last visited December 10, 2016, 3:19 pm
All times shown are
Eastern Time (GMT-5:00)

quiz pick-4 daily game odds

Topic closed. 48 replies. Last post 10 months ago by RL-RANDOMLOGIC.

Page 1 of 4
PrintE-mailLink
RL-RANDOMLOGIC's avatar - usafce

United States
Member #59354
March 13, 2008
3985 Posts
Posted: January 22, 2016, 12:00 am - IP Logged

I started playing pick-4 a while back and while thinking about the odds I came to the conclusion

that it's not as easy as one might think.  Lets say that we match 3 of the 4 digits to the correct

position, what are the odds for doing this.  One might think matching 3 digits would be 1 in 1000

but this is not true unless you only select 3 of the 4 digits places to play.

Math odds quiz.  Straight only

What are the odds of matching 1 digit  to the correct position with 4 selections?

What are the odds of matching 2 digits to the correct position with 4 selections?

What are the odds of matching 3 digits to the correct position with 4 selections?

RL

Working on my Ph.D.  "University of hard Knocks"

I will consider the opinion that my winnings are a product of chance if you are willing to consider

they are not.  Many great discoveries come while searching for something else

USAF https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prime_Base_Engineer_Emergency_Force

US Flag Trump / 2016 & 2020  

United States
    Member #132100
    August 26, 2012
    1079 Posts
    Posted: January 22, 2016, 4:11 am - IP Logged

I started playing pick-4 a while back and while thinking about the odds I came to the conclusion

that it's not as easy as one might think.  Lets say that we match 3 of the 4 digits to the correct

position, what are the odds for doing this.  One might think matching 3 digits would be 1 in 1000

What are the odds of matching 1 digit  to the correct position with 4 selections?

What are the odds of matching 2 digits to the correct position with 4 selections?