Welcome Guest
You last visited December 11, 2016, 5:30 am
All times shown are
Eastern Time (GMT-5:00)

Can I become anonymous?

Topic closed. 29 replies. Last post 6 months ago by James78.

Page 2 of 2
PrintE-mailLink
Arizona
United States
Member #165073
March 24, 2015
220 Posts
Posted: May 15, 2016, 9:31 pm - IP Logged

Lets say I'm a FL resident and won the PB.  If I decided to move to a state where winners can become anonymous, could I then just wait to become a resident of that state and then claim my winnings anonymously?

Not if you buy your tickets in FL. You have to redeem the ticket in the same state where you bought it, and anonymity is determined by the laws of that state. If you want to be anonymous, you'll have to buy your tickets in a state that allows it.

Portland, OR
    United States
    Member #145973
    August 20, 2013
    226 Posts
    Posted: May 19, 2016, 6:30 pm - IP Logged
    • Move to a no state tax state immediately (next day).  Choose a city with large population.
    • Quickly obtain residency in the new state by getting an apartment and then transferring the new driver's license to the new state.  You need a place to live to get/transfer a driver's license and I believe a homeless shelter address qualifies, but I'm not sure.   If you can't get an address, just go to the DMV and get a national id (I think that's what is called) as a homeless person, which you are, in the new state.  You'll lose the old driver's license and receive an id.  Grow a beard, moustache, more hair, or shave your head, look different for the license/id picture.  You have to look totally different.
    • Change your name to John Smith, Jose Gonzales or some popular name immediately (some states could take up to 2 months.  Research this first)
    • AS SOON as you receive your new name, update your social security number and a NEW ID/driver's license in the new state.  Again, don't forget about the new look.