Welcome Guest
You last visited December 3, 2016, 10:44 am
All times shown are
Eastern Time (GMT-5:00)

Predictions - Are You Serious ?

Topic closed. 54 replies. Last post 13 years ago by prob987.

Page 3 of 4
PrintE-mailLink
hypersoniq's avatar - 8ball
Pennsylvania
United States
Member #1340
April 6, 2003
2450 Posts
Posted: May 2, 2004, 12:58 pm - IP Logged
Quote: Originally posted by dragon on May 02, 2004

I know exactly what you mean.  Been there, done that. Where are you located geograpically (wondering about the economy and your skills)?

Northeast PA... Experience came from 11 months of training after the NAFTA-Shaft-a and over 10 years serving as "unpaid tech support for family, friends and co-workers". Before getting hired as a full-time machinist, I was the instructor for 17 months in the computer school that I went to...Then they too decided to downsize a few satellite locations... including mine. The economy here in the immediate area is dismal... no good jobs left, I must drive 1 hour each way to make $13 an hour (luckily I work 50 hour weeks)... a far cry from the $23/hr at Agere/Lucent... but locally, it's $8-$10 per hour in ALL the jobs AND you must go through a temp agency to get in anywhere. Computer jobs are non-existant, as most companies are parts of larger out-of-state entities with their own I.T. departments. In the rare dvent of an opening ,it's mostly short-term low paying contract work that they want a bachelor's degree and 10+ years of niche experience in stuff I have no experience in like AS/400 or COBOL or Novell. The school offered MS SQL, everybody wants Oracle...

Now I plan on working my way up to a CNC G-Code programmer at the machine shop... get close to that old salary... The worst thing about the economy-driven game of musical jobs is that I will forever be the "low man" seniority-wise.