Welcome Guest
You last visited January 19, 2017, 4:45 am
All times shown are
Eastern Time (GMT-5:00)

If You Live Long Enough ... Good Chance You Will Win !

Topic closed. 25 replies. Last post 2 years ago by savagegoose.

Page 1 of 2
PrintE-mailLink

United States
Member #161539
December 3, 2014
328 Posts
Posted: June 13, 2015, 5:34 am - IP Logged

I stumbled across a site dealing with actual odds of winning a lottery game.  Since I am attracted to a 6/49 game with the "better odds" ... I found this depressing question dealing with a 6/49 game ... I can only imagine the answer for the PB and MM.

"I have been playing lotteries and sweepstakes now for two months straight. Will I ever hit a jackpot? And when?

The short answer is no, you will never win. The odds of winning the usual 6/49 lottery are 1 in 13,983,816. You would have to play the game 9,692,842 times to have a 50/50 chance of winning at least once. Assuming you bought 100 lottery tickets a day, it would take 265.6 years to have a 50% chance of winning. To have a 90% chance of winning, it would take 882.2 years."

I guess I will go back to one or two tickets and hope for Lady Luck to show up one day ... last week I bought 20 tickets ($40) for the Monday drawing and won nothing and just this past Thursday I bought 5 tickets ($10) and won nothing.

I don't know for sure if the figures for winning a jackpot in a 6/49 game are accurate ... but they seem about right to me ... as I said earlier, for the PB and MM ... how many years would that take?

So from now on when I go into a store and face down a Lottery Terminal ... holding my money in my hand ... I will think of the immortal words of Inspector Callahan, otherwards known as Dirty Harry ...

"Do you feel lucky? ... well do ya punk ???"

hearsetrax's avatar - 0118

United States
    Member #52345
    May 21, 2007
    2679 Posts
    Posted: June 13, 2015, 5:55 am - IP Logged