Welcome Guest
You last visited December 4, 2016, 11:27 pm
All times shown are
Eastern Time (GMT-5:00)

Take5 NY

13060 replies. Last post 2 hours ago by sam9009.

Page 408 of 871
PrintE-mailLink
GiveFive's avatar - Lottery-026.jpg
NY State
United States
Member #92609
June 10, 2010
3693 Posts
Posted: November 23, 2013, 7:47 am - IP Logged

this post has been sticking with me.  I went back and looked at the payouts years ago and BOTH jackpot & 4 of 5 paid more or to more people.  You just pulled the curtain back from the wizard - good job. 

I need to relook at the odds and money spent - Skeptical

Thanks kap.

When I started playing regularly back in April of 2009, a Friday night JP was worth 100K+.... it has steadily been decling since then.  Yeah, the lousy economy probably does have something to do with that, but I still believe lottery ticket sales see a surge during a bad economy.  So, what happened???  Where did all the big T5 JP's go?

Compare it with the Sweet MIllion stats NY State posts on their lottery website.  Sure, you see player interest spike when they have that buy 5 get 3 free promo (of which I think it's about time for another one) but then after the promo ends, the number of winners goes back down and remains constant.  While most NY players dont like Sweet Million (the fools!) by looking at the number of winners you can easily see a "core group" of players are playing every draw.  I'm in that core group.  I could care less if there's no JP winner, or if the JP does not roll, or that the lower tier prizes absolutely stink.  I love the fact that SM has the lowest odds you can find ANYWHERE to win one million dollars.  (Well, the new ten dollar multistate million dollar raffle changed my thinking on that a bit, but the next raffle isnt until the Spring.)