Welcome Guest
You last visited December 8, 2016, 6:54 pm
All times shown are
Eastern Time (GMT-5:00)

Is everyone playing the lottery in hopes of being able to retire, what are your reasons for playing?

Topic closed. 104 replies. Last post 4 years ago by PoeticJustice32.

Page 1 of 7
PrintE-mailLink

United States
Member #122468
February 1, 2012
530 Posts
Posted: February 26, 2013, 9:18 am - IP Logged

Hi everyone,

Just curious what the different reasons are for playing the lottery? I'm assuming most people are playing for financial security but have heard of some people who win the lottery who still work in their jobs. I realize it really depends on how much a person wins before they could consider retiring from their job. I've mentioned this before but I started playing over 3 years ago because I was hoping to win enough money to send my daughter to college. Now that isn't the only reason because having financial security would be great because I have a lot of physical and mental issues, so not having to worry about working till I drop dead would be a blessing.  Before I started playing regularly I would only play when the MM or PB was over a 100 million. I've since learned that any amount of money would be great to win. Also know that it would take a certain amount of money to be able to just never have to work again.  Even if someone doesn't win enough to retire winning a lottery can still make a difference in terms of being able to afford college for kids or being able to pay off a mortgage, travel etc.  Frankly for the people who say they are going to keep working at their jobs I can see a lot of resentment from co-workers who know you won, therefore making it hard to stay in their jobs (also by leaving your job it would create a job for someone who really needs it).  I'm sure most of you are thinking it's obvious why you play the lottery but some people might have different reasons for playing.

sully16's avatar - sharan
    Ringleader
    Michigan