Welcome Guest
You last visited May 28, 2017, 10:17 am
All times shown are
Eastern Time (GMT-5:00)

Florida Scratch Offs - Post Pictures if posible

6885 replies. Last post 14 hours ago by Risky.

Page 74 of 460
PrintE-mailLink
PA
United States
Member #129849
June 29, 2012
318 Posts
Posted: April 1, 2015, 8:17 pm - IP Logged

Good day all! Quick question.  I bought four tickets.  My $10 gold rush gave me got 5x 20.00.  I didn't win anything from the other 3 cards.  Before throwing my losing tickets away I would like to know if they can be turned in.  A friend of mines told me to turn both winning and losing tickets in.  This is my first time buying scratch off tickets so I really don't know what to do. Thanks

First of all, let me congratulate you on the $100 win! That's a nice win on a $10 ticket!

Secondly, I'm not entirely sure I understand what your friend is getting at. What "I think" he means, is that you can save your 

losing tickets and then if you ever win big you can claim all your losing tickets against the taxes taken out for the big winner.

There are a few catches though:

Firstly, you need to be able to itemize your deductions via schedule A when you file your income tax.

Secondly, you can only claim losing tickets up to the total amount of winnings from the gambling. 

Lastly, you need to keep records of certain things. How strictly the record keeping is enforced, I don't know. But

if your like me and are in the position where the standard deduction is greater than anything you can offset, it's

not worth while.

You can continue to save the losing tickets if you want, but basically unless you win significantly big, and have the losers

to match dollar for dollar, it's not really what most people think it is. 20 years down the road you may scratch of that $50,000 winner

and if you save for 20 years you might have a few thousand dollars worth of losing tickets. Is it worthwhile to keep them? Sure. Just