Welcome Guest
You last visited January 18, 2017, 5:31 am
All times shown are
Eastern Time (GMT-5:00)

Has a Lottery Clerk Ever Attempted to Rip You Off?

Topic closed. 98 replies. Last post 6 years ago by sully16.

Page 5 of 7
PrintE-mailLink
Decatur, GA
United States
Member #100597
November 15, 2010
1 Posts
Posted: November 15, 2010, 8:51 am - IP Logged

It's happened to me twice with the same clerk at the same convenience store. It wasn't until I left the store the second time that I caught on to what was happening. I play scratch offs and usually have 3-5 tickets to redeem at once. Both times as the clerk was keying in the numbers, she looked up and said that one of the tickets wasn't a winner. She didn't offer the ticket back to me, but kept them behind the counter. I'm a newbie at scratch-offs, so I thought I might have messed up and given her a non-winner. But the second time, I made sure the tickets were winners and she did it again. I didn't say anything to her at that time... but believe me I'll never go back to her with tickets to redeem. I'm pretty sure she works the scam this way. She takes all the tickets and four out of the five she enters in the right three digit code on the front. On one of the tickets, she enters the code in wrong because it comes up with an error message on the screen. She keeps the ticket for herself to redeem later. Lesson learned.

TnTicketlosers's avatar - Lottery-065.jpg

United States
    Member #71120
    February 19, 2009
    1209 Posts
    Posted: November 15, 2010, 9:03 am - IP Logged

If that store has good hits thats good,redeem some where else.I use to go to Kroger they are straight up there,I dont play anymore here though.

rdgrnr's avatar - walt
      Way back up in them dadgum hills, son!
      United States
      Member #73904
      April 28, 2009
      14903 Posts
      Posted: November 15, 2010, 9:03 am - IP Logged